Protagonist

I may be a saviour,
I may be a villain
in stories where
I am not a protagonist.
Even if I am one,
it is not necessary
to shower flowers of hope
in the valley of thorns.
I can sit by your side and
narrate to you the stories
of all the trails
a heartbeat has to flow through.
It only happens when
I completely listen to you
like a honeybee who sucks nectar
to transform all the negative energy
into the precious sweet treat
which later you can have
to remember and to embrace
the seconds you have thought
you seem to be alone.
Here I am rooting,
here I am praying.
At least you be the version
which makes you proud of yourself
and disconnect through
the ritual of belongingness
from those wires which
are nothing but a mere picture
portraying people normal.

Nabiha Fatima

Recently secured 2nd position along with Sania Parveen and Himani Parasher in Inter-college Paper Presentation organised by Dhan-verse, Finance Cell, Department of Commerce, Kalindi College, University of Delhi.

Leave a comment